This topic was marked solved by its starter, on May 23rd, 2013, 12:50 AM

Arantor

  • As powerful as possible, as complex as necessary.
  • Posts: 14,278
Moderation filters UI
« on February 14th, 2012, 03:13 PM »
Opening this in a new topic to keep it separate from guts of how it all works since the user-side stuff is a very tricky beast to make work.

To recap, we have this very flexible rules based system that allows you to set multiple criteria in which to do something on a post as it's being made. Each rule has one action, each rule has one or more conditions to it that all have to be met in order for it to work.[1]

So here's the UI I've been working with; this is still a WIP and is the result of quite a bit of experimentation to get to something I actually like.

Screenshot 1: The initial 'add rule' page, won't do anything until you pick what you want the rule to do.
Screenshot 2: Picked what the rule does, now have to pick the most important part of when it runs.
Screenshot 3: We've picked what it does and whether it runs on new topics or all posts, now we start to add the conditions.
Screenshot 4: Adding a condition

(This is as far as I've got but the idea is that you pick one or more of the checkboxes, then an 'add' button will pop up, so it adds it to the table above, and clears the bottom part out the way, then once you've added at least one rule, it gives you the final save button)

Does this sound workable? I suspect it might need to be demonstrated to really get a feel for it - and I will very likely go away and make a YT video demoing it.
 1. If you want two different situations that cause the same outcome, that's two rules. E.g. moderating posts if they have a rude word in, or the user has 5 or less posts, that's two rules, one for the rude word, one for the posts.

 modfilter_add_1.png - 15.75 kB, 640x287, viewed 190 times.

 modfilter_add_2.png - 21.22 kB, 640x307, viewed 193 times.

 modfilter_add_3.png - 34.7 kB, 640x396, viewed 197 times.

 modfilter_add_4.png - 38.71 kB, 640x547, viewed 201 times.

When we unite against a common enemy that attacks our ethos, it nurtures group solidarity. Trolls are sensational, yes, but we keep everyone honest. | Game Memorial

billy2

  • Trying to earn brownie points for a lads trip to the Red Sea. Minus 1 already - just for asking!!
  • Posts: 350
<br /><br />cough, cough.

Dr. Deejay

  • Happy new year all!
  • Posts: 118

Nao

  • Dadman with a boy
  • Posts: 16,079
Re: Moderation filters UI
« Reply #3, on February 14th, 2012, 06:04 PM »
There's a strange little textarea in the Moderation settings page... Is it supposed to be there? It's called postmod_rules and has no description text... Also, it's very narrow relative to its height.

Additionally, I went to the Moderation filters page, clicked to add a filter and it didn't do anything -- which isn't surprising, since there's no form tag around the input... :^^;:

Is it a work in progress, or something? I haven't got time to look into the PHP itself, as I'm busy rewriting some portions of the autosuggest....

Arantor

  • As powerful as possible, as complex as necessary.
  • Posts: 14,278
Re: Moderation filters UI
« Reply #4, on February 14th, 2012, 06:10 PM »
Quote
There's a strange little textarea in the Moderation settings page... Is it supposed to be there? It's called postmod_rules and has no description text... Also, it's very narrow relative to its height.
Probably because as per the change log that was the only way to add rules using bare XML for now (for testing purposes) and that it was only temporary. :P As for its relatively narrow width, that's a side effect of using large_text which doesn't allow for width specification.
Quote
Additionally, I went to the Moderation filters page, clicked to add a filter and it didn't do anything -- which isn't surprising, since there's no form tag around the input...
No, again because it's not supposed to.

I only checked in the page that displays the rules - what I've attached here is the WIP on my PC from today of the UI that actually builds the rules (which will remove that textbox)

Nao

  • Dadman with a boy
  • Posts: 16,079
Re: Moderation filters UI
« Reply #5, on February 14th, 2012, 06:45 PM »
Yeah, and having seen these screenshots, I went to see them in action :P
Also wanted to check my translation...

Arantor

  • As powerful as possible, as complex as necessary.
  • Posts: 14,278
Re: Moderation filters UI
« Reply #6, on February 15th, 2012, 03:20 PM »
OK, well, some of the interface is working, it's still heavily WIP though (and doesn't save any rules yet)

Latest screenshot attached.

 modfilter_add_5.png - 35.5 kB, 640x427, viewed 160 times.


Dismal Shadow

  • Madman in a Box
  • Me: Who is Arantor? Cleverbot: It stands for time and relative dimensions in space.
  • Posts: 1,185
“I will stand on my ground as an atheist until your god shows up...If my irreligious bothers you much, and if you think everything I do is heresy to your god I don't care. Heresy is for those who believe, I don't. So, it isn't heresy at all!


   Jack in, Wedge,
   EXECUTE!

Nao

  • Dadman with a boy
  • Posts: 16,079
Re: Moderation filters UI
« Reply #8, on February 15th, 2012, 04:54 PM »
I don't believe it's the same thing... :whistle:

Arantor

  • As powerful as possible, as complex as necessary.
  • Posts: 14,278
Re: Moderation filters UI
« Reply #9, on February 15th, 2012, 05:15 PM »
No, it's not the same thing at all, and that's precisely why I didn't call it 'moderation rules' as a whole thing.

When you start using the functionality, it becomes very clear that its overlap with permissions is... limited at best.
Re: Moderation filters UI
« Reply #10, on February 16th, 2012, 12:01 PM »
OK, I think it's time to start working on the saving logic, because the two remaining types of moderation filter (user id and permissions) require a lot more energy on my part to implement (user id will depend on auto-suggest so I don't want to get into that until I know it's not likely to change any time soon, and permissions is complicated because I don't want to have to do anything manual to keep it updated)

But at least this way you'll be able to start using the UI properly :D