This topic was marked solved by its starter, on December 19th, 2016, 04:31 PM

CerealGuy

  • Posts: 343
Overflow Bug
« on July 17th, 2016, 01:35 PM »Last edited on July 18th, 2016, 11:46 PM
Sometimes i see overflowing content.

Example:

i got this Error
Code: [Select]
Warning: mysqli_connect(): (28000/1045): Access denied for user 'Zeyad_Ahmed'@'10.2.1.20' (using password: YES) in /home/u289793038/public_html/gz/app/Class-DB.php on line 55
Access denied for user 'Zeyad_Ahmed'@'10.2.1.20' (using password: YES)


Fix:
sections.css
Code: [Select]
.postarea
    width: 75%

Git Commit:
https://github.com/C3realGuy/wedge/commit/de8ca6bbefb117d75b812e750a6efa6a8d0b6964

Git Pull Request:
https://github.com/Wedge/wedge/pull/34

EDIT:
Fixed: https://github.com/Wedge/wedge/commit/d71cdbe9438a53354866493fd18e63f1a74d228e

Nao

  • Dadman with a boy
  • Posts: 16,063
Re: Overflow Bug
« Reply #1, on July 19th, 2016, 10:21 AM »
Uploaded the Weaving fix here, confirmed working. Thanks!!
Haven't bothered with the other skins yet. ^^
Re: Overflow Bug
« Reply #2, on August 19th, 2016, 12:58 AM »
Okay, I went to my PM page and... posts are now 0px wide?!

Is everyone seeing that?
I'm using Wine as my current skin...

Gotta go to bed. Just trying to put that out before I go.

:edit: Fixed by removing display: block from #pm .post_wrapper in Wine's extra.css file... Uh. I'm guessing that'll break something else. Anyone?

CerealGuy

  • Posts: 343
Re: Overflow Bug
« Reply #3, on August 19th, 2016, 02:32 PM »
Didn't see any problems in Chromium, but what I saw just ago, this fix doesn't work with firefox. Firefox just completely ignores the width thing.

Nao

  • Dadman with a boy
  • Posts: 16,063
Re: Overflow Bug
« Reply #4, on August 20th, 2016, 09:09 PM »
(I thought someone mentioned it was working everywhere..?)

There are always going to be CSS bugs. After all, browsers evolve over time. Sometimes they fix bugs that were understood to be 'features'.
Heck, I'm still unable to understand why the sticky avatar feature doesn't work well on Wine (sidebar on the left) + narrow window + opened sidebar (mouse middle-click). It's a very, very specific case, but it bothers me nonetheless.

CerealGuy

  • Posts: 343
Re: Overflow Bug
« Reply #5, on August 21st, 2016, 01:18 PM »
Ouh Middle Click? I just discovered another "middle click bug". Open a menu item in a new tab with middle click and the parent menu doesn't hover anymore. All other menus are working.
Re: Overflow Bug
« Reply #6, on August 24th, 2016, 12:16 PM »Last edited on August 24th, 2016, 01:07 PM
Give this a try:
Code: [Select]
.postarea
@if $can_flex
flex: 1 0 0
@else
display: table-cell
width: 78%
@endif
min-width: 9em
padding: 0 15px
vertical-align: top

EDIT:

This is the best i could figure out yet. Zoom in + Zoom out works quite good in both firefox + chrome.
Code: [Select]
.postarea
@if $can_flex
display: flex
flex-direction: column
flex: 1 0 49em
@else
display: table-cell
width: 78%
@endif
min-width: 49em
width: 0
padding: 0 15px
vertical-align: top

For sure this needs mobile and browser specific adjusting...
Re: Overflow Bug
« Reply #7, on August 25th, 2016, 11:36 AM »
Code: (sections.css) [Select]
.postarea
@if $can_flex
display: flex
flex-direction: column
@else
display: table-cell
@endif

@if firefox  // firefox needs special treatment
@if $can_flex
flex: 1 0 49em
@else
width: 78%
@endif
min-width: 49em
vertical-align: top
@else
width: 0
@if $can_flex
flex: 1 0 1em
@else
position: relative // Needed for quick-edit in IE 6-8.
@endif
@endif

padding: 0 15px
/* Soft-merged posts shouldn't have a background. */

https://github.com/C3realGuy/wedge/commit/7e9ffb61f1a32ea85d047699b7b62ee578933d93

I had to rebase the dev branch to be on head with the master/upstream but now I can't create a pull request on that branch any more :lol: Git is a love/hate relationship.

Nao

  • Dadman with a boy
  • Posts: 16,063
Re: Overflow Bug
« Reply #8, on August 26th, 2016, 08:46 PM »
Quote from CerealGuy on August 21st, 2016, 01:18 PM
Ouh Middle Click? I just discovered another "middle click bug". Open a menu item in a new tab with middle click and the parent menu doesn't hover anymore. All other menus are working.
Good catch... I know why it's doing that, I personally wrote the code that unfolds the menu after you click it -- it's because if you went back a page, and didn't move the mouse, the menu stayed opened, which sucked. I guess I prefer this current bug to that...

Maybe I could simply determine whether the link was opened by a middle click (I think jQuery allows that...), then skip the closing area in that situation.

As for your CSS... Wait, am I supposed to insert something somewhere? Diff please? ^^