select has visibility:hidden on create new topic

MultiformeIngegno

  • Posts: 1,337
Re: select has visibility:hidden on create new topic
« Reply #1, on January 27th, 2014, 12:41 AM »
Yeah I can confirm all selects are set to visibility:hidden by default. When I set them to visible there's raw code in them.

Another thing: when I enable "Enable compressed JS/CSS" all stylings are lost..

Nao

  • Dadman with a boy
  • Posts: 16,078
Re: select has visibility:hidden on create new topic
« Reply #2, on January 27th, 2014, 09:58 AM »
- I did say in the New Revs topic (which I expect everyone to read, *at least the grayed out comments* except for new installers), that I had updated jQuery to 2.1, and that it wasn't available yet on Google. What I didn't expect was for Google to STILL not have it up two days later (when it's happily available on the jQuery and Microsoft CDNs.) It's too long a time, and means every new install of Wedge breaks. I'll have to revert this for the time being. (Next commit.)

- This can be due to many things. What do you get when you click the css.gz links directly?

MultiformeIngegno

  • Posts: 1,337

Nao

  • Dadman with a boy
  • Posts: 16,078
Re: select has visibility:hidden on create new topic
« Reply #4, on January 27th, 2014, 11:24 AM »
View source code in Chrome Mobile: open the URL bar, go to the beginning, and add view-source: to it. Thanks to backwards compatibility, you can't get away with just 'source:'. No, you have to frigging type a long text, and switch keyboard modes 4 times (instead of just once) to find the '-' and ':'. Thank you, Google... :P Or they could just add a View Source menu item if Developer mode is active, of course...
Posted: January 27th, 2014, 11:24 AM

Also, ffio.it is working just fine for me..?! (Apart from JS being disabled because you're on that frigging Google CDN, of course. I may start considering going to the jQuery CDN by default... :lol:)

MultiformeIngegno

  • Posts: 1,337
Re: select has visibility:hidden on create new topic
« Reply #5, on January 27th, 2014, 12:10 PM »
I disabled obfuscation..

I'll switch to jquery CDN later and see if selects and obfuscation work fine.
Anyway CDNjs had jquery 2.1.0 from day 1 :P you didn't want to add it....... :whistle:

Nao

  • Dadman with a boy
  • Posts: 16,078
Re: select has visibility:hidden on create new topic
« Reply #6, on January 27th, 2014, 12:33 PM »
Re: obfuscation: and..?

Re: CDN, I don't want to add it because it's not officially endorsed by jQuery, so it's harder for me to check whether it's been updated, where it's still active and has good performance, etc.

It doesn't prevent you from adding this as an option through a plugin... :P (Well, okay, plugins probably can't deal with these details right now, which is why I'll be re-adding file edits in the future. But my way, as I said. Anyway. When it's ready. Etc.)

Pandos

  • Living on the edge of Wedge
  • Posts: 635
# dpkg-reconfigure brain
error: brain is not installed or configured

Nao

  • Dadman with a boy
  • Posts: 16,078
Re: select has visibility:hidden on create new topic
« Reply #8, on January 27th, 2014, 04:15 PM »
No, no...
They won't compress a gz file. They have that extension. Why would they compress them again..?

Also, compressing a file by default doesn't mean it's not cached anywhere. Meaning there's a chance it'll have to recompress all of these files on every page load. One of the reasons I wrote this feature was to get rid of one of my servers' tendency to waste time on this.

MultiformeIngegno

  • Posts: 1,337

Nao

  • Dadman with a boy
  • Posts: 16,078

MultiformeIngegno

  • Posts: 1,337
Re: select has visibility:hidden on create new topic
« Reply #11, on January 27th, 2014, 07:12 PM »
Quote from Nao on January 27th, 2014, 04:42 PM
Alrighty. (Maybe I'll have the new installer up when you're back... Not sure, though.)
All works fine (see attachment)!

Maybe a popup saying that page refresh (to clear cache) may be needed after changing settings regarding obfuscation and minification would be avoiding noobs complaining.

Another thing: "Enable compressed JS/CSS" should have a description that it works only on Apache (due to the htaccess config). Even better would be a check that greys it if another web server is found

 wedge.png - 150.46 kB, 1899x948, viewed 137 times.


Nao

  • Dadman with a boy
  • Posts: 16,078
Re: select has visibility:hidden on create new topic
« Reply #13, on January 27th, 2014, 11:20 PM »
- No page refresh should be needed. This is because filenames change whenever you change one of these options (compression and obfuscation). If you switch between minified/unminified, the filename isn't changed, but what does it matter. ;)

- Enable compressed JS/CSS *should* work on other servers... It's just that you'll need to write your own handlers for them. As simple as that... Well, as complicated as that. But if you're not using Apache, chances are, you know what you're doing.

- The text below your avatar seems to overlap on Opera 18 default, as mentioned in another topic. By the time Wedge goes stable, though, all (important) browsers will support everything properly. If you need support right now, just enable 'web platform' in about:flags.

MultiformeIngegno

  • Posts: 1,337
Re: select has visibility:hidden on create new topic
« Reply #14, on January 27th, 2014, 11:52 PM »
Quote from Nao on January 27th, 2014, 11:20 PM
- No page refresh should be needed. This is because filenames change whenever you change one of these options (compression and obfuscation). If you switch between minified/unminified, the filename isn't changed, but what does it matter. ;)
Mmmh.. I needed to refresh the page every time I changed some of those options (I got no stylings every time before a first refresh).
Quote from Nao on January 27th, 2014, 11:20 PM
- Enable compressed JS/CSS *should* work on other servers... It's just that you'll need to write your own handlers for them. As simple as that... Well, as complicated as that. But if you're not using Apache, chances are, you know what you're doing.
I'll do some research tomorrow! ;)
Quote from Nao on January 27th, 2014, 11:20 PM
- The text below your avatar seems to overlap on Opera 18 default, as mentioned in another topic. By the time Wedge goes stable, though, all (important) browsers will support everything properly. If you need support right now, just enable 'web platform' in about:flags.
I was with Firefox! I don't even have Opera installed..